top of page

5 Mental Health Role Models for Women’s History Month


During adolescence, girls often struggle with their self-esteem and appearance. During this time of change, these issues may be made more difficult by mental illnesses such as eating disorders, depression, anxiety, mood disorders, and personality disorders.

As children and adolescents, we often look to celebrities and famous people to inspire us. Whether we want Kylie Jenner’s hair or Taylor Swift’s friend group, young girls are profoundly influenced by women in the public eye.

For young women who are experiencing mental health issues, finding famous females who have shared in these experiences and overcome them can be particularly inspiring.

1. Demi Lovato, Singer/Songwriter

Depression, Bipolar Disorder, Self-harm, Substance Abuse, Bulimia

“This is an ongoing process and the hardest part about these diseases is that they’re things that I’m going to have to face every day for the rest of my life. I’m going to mess up and I’m not going to be perfect, but as long as I try everyday to get better and better myself, then I’m one step ahead of where I was before.”

2. Zoe Sugg, YouTube vlogger/Author

Anxiety

“I know just how isolating it can feel to experience severe anxiety. However, the overwhelming response I’ve received every time I’ve spoken out online, shows just how many young people confront it every day.”




3. Alexa PenaVega, Actress

Bulimia

“I struggled with bulimia for so long, and even though I got through it, I feel like a lot of my insecurities still with my body are from that. This was a part of my life that I was always so afraid of people finding out, but I knew that at some point, I would talk about it because I wanted to help people.”

4. J.K. Rowling, Author

Depression

“I have never been remotely ashamed of having been depressed. Never. What’s to be ashamed of? I went through a really rough time and I am quite proud that I got out of that.”




5. Catherine Zeta Jones, Actress

Bipolar Disorder

“If my revelation of having bipolar II has encouraged one person to seek help, then it is worth it. There is no need to suffer silently and there is no shame in seeking help.”



GenPsych Adolescent Programs

GenPsych’s Adolescent Program provides an accepting and encouraging environment for children and teens to receive the mental health care they need. Our comprehensive adolescent mental health treatment program equips young people with the confidence and skills necessary to reaching their full potential.

For more information or to request an appointment, call (855) 426-7792 or visit our Adolescent Program page here.

554 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page